I'm procrastinating. I should be working on my graduate work, but I don't want to...I will get it done, don't worry but I'd much rather write about my day that read 100 pages about technology and education. Anyway, I am sore today. All over. It got better, but then we went driving through the Quivera Reserve for several hours and I stiffened up again. I did get to eat at the Wheatland Cafe for the first time. It was delicious, and I couldn't finish all my food but I wanted to. When we got home, a nap was attempted. However, a very grumpy miniature schnauzer simply refused to let us have a nap. He grumbled, growled and generally made a nuisance of himself for about 45 minutes. So we gave up the idea of the nap, and decided on bike riding. We had discussed a 20 mile yesterday, and it was nice today. So we ended up going 22 miles. I broke my 10 mile record again, this time by a minute. I had some help with a tail wind but I'm still happy about it. Wind and hills still are not my best friend, but my general speed is more constant and I was still quite a bit faster even going against the wind.
One thing I do want to discuss is bicycling clothing. First off it can be expensive. I personally have fitted Danskin leggings from Walmart. I say fitted because the loose ones catch in my chain. Up until a few months ago, I didn't own a bicycle jersey, I now own two. The Shebeest one posted last week and one Jason bought me off of ebay. I would like to say it is not necessary to own a jersey, and they do run very small, not like regular clothing. I also don't think they are the most form flattering things on the planet but the reason that I like my jerseys...POCKETS!! They have pockets sewn on the back so you can keep stuff with you. Today that meant tissues for my cold, and a snack bar. I just think they are convenient and they are made of moisture wicking material which helps a lot. Hate wearing a sweat soaked tshirt. I guess my point is, you don't have to have the expensive bike clothes but they have their purpose and can be nice.
I'm posting my outfit today so that you can see what it looks like. Now this jersey is one Jason bought me off of eBay. I really like it, but it was short sleeved. Shebeest has removable sleeves, which you see me wearing. They don't slip and don't have any weird clingly stuff touching your skin. However, I'm not sure if they'd be comfortable for someone with larger arms than me. I know the elastic is tight so they won't slip but I wonder if I had thicker arms if it would be uncomfortable. I don't feel them once I get them on, so they work great for me.
I'm babbling, I'm tired and now heading to a hot bath to help with my soreness and stiffness. Until next time, enjoy the ride!!

No comments:
Post a Comment