Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Saddle trial day 2

Well, today was better but not awesome.  I feel that maybe I was still a bit tender from yesterday.  I did wear padded shorts today.  Went 10 miles.  I'm starting to wonder if maybe my saddle height is a bit too high.  Going to go mark it with a sharpie and put it down just a smidgen.  Found a very interesting website, makes me wish I lived closer to Australia, this guy seems to know his stuff.  I am going to take a day off, adjust the height and keep you posted.  Wish me luck.

Tuesday, July 14, 2015

Seemingly never ending

I ordered yet another new saddle last week.  I think that official puts me up to six?  I got it in the mail yesterday.  However, with a heat index of 105, I waited until this morning to try it out.  The reviews on this saddle were amazing.  Some reviews saying that it will change your bicycling experience.  A lot of hype, hope and apprehension came in that box.  What if I just purchased yet another saddle that would hurt me.  What do I do after that, was what Rhi wanted to know.  This was by far the most expensive saddle I've purchased.  It can cost upwards of $140, luckily I found a website called Wiggle, and was able to get it for about $80.  Still, if it worked.

Selle Italia Women's Diva Gel Flow Saddle600+ reviews had 5 stars
Of course, I ignored previously discovered ways to break in a saddle.  I didn't wear padded shorts and about 2 miles out I realized I didn't have my multi-tool to make adjustments.  So thus started one of the longest 10 mile rides ever.  I squirmed most of the way, feeling that the seat wasn't in the right spot, hoping that as I rode it, it would get better.  The last few miles, I was just ready to be done.  The last mile across my little town, and I just wanted to cry.  Again, I bought the wrong thing.  Emotion and logic were fighting for control, luckily logic won.  I just need to tweak it, move it forward maybe that would help.  I got home and went straight for the tools.  I moved the saddle forward, took a deep breath and rode around the block.  Hmm.  That already feels better, not as much pressure on the squishy parts.  Maybe it will be okay.  I will find out more when I try it again tomorrow.

The frustrating part is that most of the people I know don't seem to have any problems.  And that mean voice in my head keeps saying maybe this means it isn't meant to be.  If I can just find a way to sit on my bike without pain or discomfort, I imagine I would be more motivated to ride.  And to ride longer.

Wish me luck, and if you are reading this and have found a solution to this please share.  Thanks!

Monday, July 6, 2015

July Update

I am an awful blogger. I apologize, and promise to do better.  A lot has happened since February, and there are a lot of reasons I haven't written.  Mostly excuses, so I will spare you.

First things first, my Bicyclists of Central Kansas Facebook group exploded this year.  With the help of a good friend John Radenberg, we managed to set up a local challenge for the National Bike Challenge.  With that came official t-shirts with a sponsorship from a local company and then it just took off.  We currently have over sixty people on our Facebook page and 59 active riders in our local NBC challenge.  We've made new cycling friends and increased our knowledge base.  We also made a new connection with the local Bike shop that will help us out next year.  With all this, I'm hoping that my women's bicycling group will grow.  We've had two events, both very small but it's a start!  We did tie dye t-shirts with the This Girl Can logo on it and then we had a small ride in Great Bend.  I need to get organized and do more like this, it will only grow if I continue to work at it.

On to my personal riding.  I'm still having issues with my saddle, and it makes me sad.  They are not as severe as last year, but I also haven't been putting in the miles.  I didn't do Kandango like I'd hoped, because I'm still trying to figure this out.  I have ordered another saddle with hope that the high reviews are in my favor.  As for motivation, I will say the hardest part is leaving my house.  Once I get going, even if it's hard, generally it puts me in a much better mood.  In two years, I've ridden over 2,500 miles according to Endomondo. I'm not sure that I would have made it through my turbulent family issues if it wasn't for my new lifestyle. Currently, I'm enjoying doing coffee shop runs with Rhi, which results in a pretty easy 20 mile ride.

I just learned about a Women's Riding Festival in Boulder County Colorado in August.  I'm curious about it, and hope to talk somebody into coming with me.  If I can get this saddle issue dealt with, I really would like to try a century someday.

I will try and do better with blogging.  I need to write for myself, regardless of if anyone actually reads this or not, I think it's therapeutic.

Links of Interest

http://bicyclistsofcentralkansas.weebly.com/

Women's Riding Festival

Friday, February 6, 2015

Kansas Weather is such a tease

Hello all,

I'm participating in a work fitness contest of sorts.  We track activity and are in teams of 4 or 5, the more minutes of activity the better.   Well I did poorly the first week, so I've been trying to get some activity in each day.   This has included workouts with Rhi, my bike trainer and lastly actual rides outside.  You see I live in Kansas, and I'm pretty sure that our weather is a bit schizophrenic.  It's February and we are seeing 65 and 70 degree days.  But it's not consistent and fluctuates between beautiful warm days, and days when you think your face will freeze off.  The problem with the beautiful days is that it makes me want spring even more.  So that is my bit about the weather.

On a different note, I'm feeling a bit motivated.  I'm trying to complain less when I'm exercising, which I'm pretty sure Rhi is excited about since she has to listen to me.   But I feel that if I try and think more positively maybe I will actually feel more excited about the workouts.  I don't dread them, but I'm not super excited about them either.  So far, it think it's working.  This week was hard workouts, and I'm generally sore everywhere right now.   I rode today with sore legs, and actually it helped the soreness.  Plus the hot bath that I just got done with...I am sore. But I feel stronger :) Anyway, this motivation has led me to talk to our PE teacher at school.  I wanted to know my body fat calculation.  He had a electronic thing that measure, which is great because I wouldn't have done the calipers.  So I got the reader thing, put in the information and got a reading.  I wish I knew what my body fat was before I started this fitness journey 2 years ago or so.  This mornings number made me a bit sad.  But I had to remember that I'm still 2 to 3 jean sizes smaller (depending on cut) than I was a few years ago. So it has to be a smaller number than wear I started. See trying to stay positive.  I'm trying not to obsess about the weight loss, but it can be difficult.   Figuring out how to eat and what to eat is hard for me, I've cut down portions, but I have to have snacks during the day.  I get so hungry, and then I get really grumpy and no one likes grumpy art teachers.  I wish I knew what foods to eat to keep me fuller longer.  I've tried many different things, but nothing seems to stick with me for more than 2 or 3 hours.  My currently plan is to make better choices and swap out some of the worse things.  I've also been trying to drink more water...but as a teacher this comes with another problem.  I can't just use the bathroom whenever I want, so how do people do this?!  I'm still trying though.

I'm considering doing Kandango this year.  It's quite a bit shorter than BAK.  If I do Kandango and do okay with no issues, I might consider BAK again.  My other goal is to try the Women's Bicycling group again in April.  So I will try and keep posting.

I leave you with a picture from today's ride.  Jason and I are starting to ride dirt roads, and it's nice for a change of pace.  I hope to do a gravel ride sometime in the next year or so.